Do You Have a Great Commission Conscience?

Do you have a Great Commission Conscience?  Gary McIntosh and Charles Arn posed this question in a book What Every Pastor Should Know: 101 Indispensible Rules of Thumb for Leading Your Church.  He noted after years of ministry and research that church leaders should answer positively to 7 out of 10 of these statements; and that if a minimum of 20 percent of the congregation responds positively to this, then a church has a Great Commission conscience. 

  1. I see the primary purpose of our church as responding to the Great Commission.
  2. I have participated in an outreach training event in the last year.
  3. I have invited an unchurched friend or relative to a church event in the last six months.
  4. I would support a motion to designate at least 10 percent of our church budget to outreach events and training activities.
  5. I would prefer that the pastor call on nonmembers more often than on members.
  6. I would be willing to take a new member or visitor home for dinner once every six months.
  7. I have intentionally introduced myself to a new member or visitor in the past month.
  8. I have talked with an unchurched person about my faith in the past three months.
  9. I have prayed for a specific unchurched person in the past month.
  10. I would be willing to be a pioneer in a new group or new church fellowship to help reach new people.

How did you fare? 

Categories: church, church growth, Church Life, evangelism | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

