Tebow, Teammates, and a Lesson for the Body of Christ

Tim Tebow serves in our culture now as a very polarizing figure.  He is loved/hated for his faith in Christ; he is loved/hated for his football ability (“I love his energy” to “he can’t throw a spiral”); and he is scrutinized almost daily on ESPN, more so than any other barely-playing backup quarterback of all-time.  I mean, every day on the ESPN.com’s top headlines, Tebow is mentioned—showing that he still provides a lot of traffic for ESPN, NFL.com, etc. 

Tebow didn’t play against New England because he had two fractured ribs.  Yet, he still dressed out (that is, was in uniform and on the active roster).  Why? 

“I had to do a little bit of talking just to dress but I just want to be there for my teammates in case they needed me in an emergency situation.”

Tebow has a litany of answers he provides for the media that goes something like this:  “I just want to go out and practice as hard as I can everyday to improve everyday so I can contribute to this team and be there for my teammates.”  Time will tell if this truly is so, but few are able to say anything negative about his work ethic that takes away from this aforementioned litany.

May God grant us the attitude expressed here as a body of Christ: always ready to dress out, ready to come into the game, ready to do Kingdom work.  May we always have our Christ and our teammates in mind before self.

19 For though I am free from all, I have made myself a servant to all, that I might win more of them. 20 To the Jews I became as a Jew, in order to win Jews. To those under the law I became as one under the law (though not being myself under the law) that I might win those under the law. 21 To those outside the law I became as one outside the law (not being outside the law of God but under the law of Christ) that I might win those outside the law. 22 To the weak I became weak, that I might win the weak. I have become all things to all people, that by all means I might save some. 23 I do it all for the sake of the gospel,that I may share with them in its blessings (1 Corinthians 9:19-23).

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Tebow, Teammates, and a Lesson for the Body of Christ

  1. Jay Moyers

    Your story brings to mind: “Rather train yourself for godliness; for while bodily training is of some value, godliness is of value in every way, as it holds promise for the present life and also for the life to come” (1 Tim 4:7-8 ESV). This is a favorite verse to share with personal trainers and those at the fitness club.
    Tim Tebow also practices hard so he can be ready to play. We need to practice hard with daily Bible reading, prayer, witness, worship. We need to be equipped to be ambassadors for Christ.

Leave a Reply

