Why I Switched to a Standing Desk

Over the last two months, articles have come across my way about the dangers of prolonged sitting.  In fact, I put up a poster a few weeks back on this subject. 

Enter the standing desk.  A standing desk is for writing and/or reading while standing up or while sitting on a high stool.  Ever intrigued by the thought of it helping me physically as well as providing more energy and alertness when I’m in my office at my church, I decided to give it a try.  So to experiment, I went this route:

Standing Desk Draft

My desk was perpendicular to the far left wall, as a conventional office would be.  So I tried moving it to the side, and brought up a coffee house table and chair from downstairs at church.  But the wires were too much and I had to cock my head too far to the left to see the big screen.  So I passed.

But I still liked the idea.  I was more productive, more alert, and my body felt better from doing away with the slumping.  I am at a time in my life where I will sacrifice initial discomfort for long-term health.  It took me a couple of days to get used to it—now I love it.

The ultimate solution for me?  Here you go:

Standing Desk Permanent 1

This is my conventional desk back where it was.  The only change was going to Target® and buying two Espresso-colored shoe stand (total $28) and put them back-to-back.  Each stand is about 3 feet wide and 11 inches tall and 18 inches deep.  This works perfectly for my 5’8” frame. 

Standing Desk Side

Also here…

Standing Desk Front

As you can see, these shoe stands provide shelving for easy access to various papers.  Plus, there is room if, as in my case, you scoot the laptop back, you have space to write or draw.

What else is needed is a rug to stand on.  I purchased a Genuine Joe Air Step Anti-Fatigue Mat for about $20 (with shipping and handling).  I needed something for my feet on the hard floor with concrete padded by a 1/2 inch of carpet.  This is a cheaper rug that is very durable. 

Reactions

Needless to say, the reactions to this setup have been met with … curiosity!  Everyone is being rather nice when they walk in my office, but the look on their face is that of, “Huh!  Interesting!”  But reactions aside, this works beautifully for me.  I sit if I’m talking on the phone or reading something by the light of the window—but I stand the rest of the time and truly enjoy this new phase of office work.

If this hasn’t bored you to tears yet, I would like to know what you all do in your offices (standing or sitting) to keep you alert. 

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Why I Switched to a Standing Desk

  1. Interesting Matthew…I’ll have to say…I’ve never heard of it, but it makes sense. Hopefully you’re not a standing sleeper.

    -Chad

  2. I might need to try considering this. I feel the sitting posture definitely is not healthy especially for 4 hours+ in a row.

  3. Jay Moyers

    I tried to sit on a large exercise ball at work,but the staples were a problem. Later, I did stand and use my computer at work and really enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

