What Not to Say to Your Spouse

Again, Danny Akin in his book God on Sex: The Creator’s Ideas about Love, Intimacy and Marriage passes along some more helpful tips from Steve Stephens on what not to say to your spouse.  These were culled from some of his close friends.  Yikes!  Brace yourself:

  • “I told you so.”
  • “You’re just like your mother.”
  • “You’re always in a bad mood.”
  • “You just don’t think.”
  • “It’s your fault.”
  • “What’s wrong with you?”
  • “All you ever do is complain.”
  • “I can’t do anything to please you.”
  • “You get what you deserve.”
  • “Why don’t you ever listen to me?”
  • “Can’t you be more responsible?”
  • “What were you thinking?”
  • “You’re impossible!”
  • “I don’t know why I put up with you.”
  • “I can talk to you until I’m blue in the face and it doesn’t do any good.”
  • “I can do whatever I like.”
  • “If you don’t like it, you can just leave.”
  • “Can’t you do anything right?”
  • “That was stupid.”
  • “All you ever do is think of yourself.”
  • “If you really loved me, you’d do this.”
  • “You’re such a baby.”
  • “Turnabout’s fair play.”
  • “You deserve a dose of your own medicine.”
  • “What’s your problem?”
  • “I can never understand you.”
  • “Do you always have to be right?”

Ouch!  Words can be weapons, yes?  What think ye?

Categories: Marriage | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “What Not to Say to Your Spouse

  1. theodidaktos

    Words aren’t just weapons. (Prov. 12:18) They can be deadly. (Prov. 18:21)

Leave a Reply

