Thirty-Seven Things to Say to Your Spouse

Daniel Akin’s book God on Sex: The Creator’s Ideas About Love, Intimacy and Marriage, an extended engaging exposition of Song of Solomon, includes a Steve Stephens’ list of 37 things to say to your spouse.  Use them wisely:

  • “Good job!”
  • “You are wonderful!”
  • “That was really great.”
  • “You look gorgeous today.”
  • “I don’t feel complete without you.”
  • “I appreciate all the things you’ve done for me all these years.”
  • “You come first in my life, before kids, career, friends, anything.”
  • “I’m glad I married you.”
  • “You’re the best friend I have.”
  • “If I had to do it over again, I’d still marry you.”
  • “I wanted you today.”
  • “I missed you today.”
  • “I couldn’t get you out of my mind today.”
  • “It’s nice to wake up next to you.”
  • “I will always love you.”
  • “I love to see your eyes sparkle when you smile.”
  • “As always, you look good today.”
  • “I trust you.”
  • “I can always count on you.”
  • “You make me feel good.”
  • “I’m so proud to be married to you.”
  • “I’m sorry.”
  • “I was wrong.”
  • “What would you like?”
  • “What is on your mind?”
  • “Let me just listen.”
  • “You are so special.”
  • “I can’t imagine life without you.”
  • “I wish I were a better partner.”
  • “What can I do to help?”
  • “Pray for me.”
  • “I’m praying for you today.”
  • “I prize every moment we spend together.”
  • “Thank you for loving me.”
  • “Thank you for accepting me.”
  • “Thank you for being my partner.”
  • “You make every day brighter.”

__________________

From Steve Stephens, “37 Things to Say to Your Spouse,” in Stories for the Heart, complied by Alice Gray (Sisters, OR: Multnomah, 1996), 177-78. Quoted in Daniel Akin, God on Sex: The Creator’s Ideas About Love, Intimacy and Marriage (Nashville: Broadman & Holman, 2003), 30-31.

Categories: Marriage | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

