I’m Off Facebook for 21 Days

While the Lord has told us not to tell people when we are fasting, I need to let you know because of possible communications issues.  As part of our church’s Read. Pray. Fast. 21 Days. , I will not be on Facebook. I will still be on e-mail and still blog during the 21 days, blogging out devotionals for the RPF21, but Facebook will not be on the menu. 

Why?

For me, Facebook started out as a way to communicate with the numerous college students and younger adults via articles, Scripture, and other helpful ways to have a vital walk with Christ.  While I don’t spend a lot of time on Facebook (I don’t think I do, at least), I do share a lot of stuff (and sharing stuff on FB is about a five-second endeavor)—but I need to see if I have allowed Facebook and even Twitter too much of a role in my communication and in my recreation. 

So I will deactivate my account.  In the meantime, I will be blogging at http://www.grippedbythegospel.com .  Feel free to e-mail me if you need to talk.  If you send me a message via Facebook, I won’t get it until Monday, January 31st. 

Blessings!

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “I’m Off Facebook for 21 Days

  1. theodidaktos

    In Matthew 6:16-18, my understanding is that Jesus was saying not to draw unnecessary attention to the fact that you are fasting. Like you mentioned on Sunday, we have to be careful of our motives. However, I think it /can/ be (though isn’t always) detrimental in a corporate fast to not share with each other for reason of encouragement. For example, some may feel the desire to fast from food, but if they feel alone in that endeavor, they may “settle” for another fasting option.

    Fasting from Facebook is hard… but at the end of the 21 days, you just may have a little less of an appetite for it. 🙂 Blessings!
    ~Kayla

    • I agree with you, Kayla. I mentioned to our folks on Sunday night that I needed to give ‘necessary’ attention to the FB issue because so many people use that as the exclusive means by which to communicate with me. I had to tell them to use other means, or their message would be sitting there for three months. I just wanted to be clear about my personal and pastoral motives.

      I told everyone not to share, unless its with your accountability partner. I hope you can follow along with the fasting devotionals. Would love your feedback there as well.

      Blessings!

      • theodidaktos

        Sure. This evening, I’ll catch up on the ones you’ve posted up to this point. 🙂 Just reminded me of a blog I wrote a year and a half ago about fasting… It’s amazing to me to see how much more the LORD has taught me in a year and a half!

Leave a Reply

